Thank You

I just want to thank those of you who took the time to wish me a Happy Birthday today. And believe it or not I even got a card via Snail Mail this afternoon. There are certainly less of those showing up every year. Most cards seem to be like the one my son emailed to me today.


I had a pretty busy day to celebrate my 61 years. This morning we pulled out the area rugs that came with our house and got ready to replace them. This is what the Living Room looked like.


And here’s what we replaced it with this afternoon.

It looks good, and is quite a bit lighter than the old Brown thing. We spent a few days last week shopping for the new rugs and came home with sticker shock. The first place we looked at came up with a price of $11000.00 plus tax for the two rugs we wanted. After shopping around a bit we got both pieces for about 10% of that. Not quite as nice maybe, but far easier on the bank balance.

I don’t have a ‘before’ pic of our eating area, but it was very dark blue. Here’s the new one.

Sylvia isn’t too sure about this one yet, as it doesn’t necessarily complement the chairs the way she wants. We do have three days to figure out if we want to keep it.

On my way to picking up the rugs I went to a tryout for a local Softball team. They have a couple of openings and there were 5 of us looking to fill the spots. I think I did pretty well, but there’s another practice on Thursday after which they’ll pick the best of us. The team plays in a ‘Competitive’ division, but they’re nowhere near as good as the Jokers that I played with this winter. I’ll let you know how things turn out.

We’re just having dinner at home today, as we have tickets to a play (Rock of Ages) tomorrow and will do the dinner celebration thing then. I do get one special treat for my Birthday though. 

Chocolate Cupcakes with Caramel Frosting. The iced ones are for me, and the plain ones for ‘She who doesn’t understand how I can eat something so sweet’! In case you didn’t notice, I even get an extra one!

So thanks again for the Birthday Wishes. I hope that your day was as good as mine.

3 responses to “Thank You

  1. Glad you had a great birthday! Good luck on making the softball team. Hope that works out and you have a chance to play again this summer. Keep you in “softball shape” for next fall!! Just wanted to tell you I love your new rugs! They really lighten things up a lot, and I like that. Tell Sylvia the chairs and rug look fine. If she really likes the rug, it’s not too hard to redo the chairs, if they are just basic chair cushions. I did some once a long time ago and it wasn’t too bad. So definitely keep the rug – replace the chair cushions if need be. That’s just my 2cents, for what it’s worth 🙂 !! Happy spring – hope it’s nice where you are!

    Like

  2. Happy belated birthday! And the new rugs look very nice 😊

    Like

Leave a Reply

