That’s not good.

At about 5:30 this morning Sylvia and I woke up to a strange sound. At first I thought it was raining, but when I thought about it for a few seconds I remembered that it wasn’t supposed to rain here for the foreseeable future, but I definitely heard the sound of water falling. I got up and opened up some blinds to see if we had an issue with our water standpipe as it broke off a couple of years ago on a cold night. As it was going to be below freezing I’d shut off the water and released the pressure on the hose, so I was pretty sure it wasn’t going to be us that had a problem.

I still couldn’t see where the sound was coming from as it was pitch dark, and I didn’t think to put on my glasses. I managed to find my pants and jacket and finally a flashlight before I wandered out in the cold. As soon as I got on the backside of our trailer I could see the 25 foot tall fountain that was coming from an unoccupied site’s water supply. Fortunately it was slightly angled away from our site so I could walk right up to it and shut it off without getting soaked. That same angle was causing the water to fall on top of a friends RV, but as she was away on a bus trip to the Rose Bowl she didn’t have a chance to witness the ice that now encased her RV.

I’m a firm believer that Ice in Arizona should only be found in a glass.

4 responses to “That’s not good.

  1. I hate those middle of the night disasters! Hopefully the weather will warm up a little so she does not have to chip her way in the door.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Good story with a fairly happy ending 🙂 Glad that’s all it was!

    Like

  3. Glad it wasn’t raining on your rig…..sure don’t like those middle of the night surprises!

    Like

  4. here here brother and that ice should be partial covered with scotch…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

